## Events

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1992 METTLER AWARD IN THER-MAL ANALYSIS

The North Amarican Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1992 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation consists of a certificate, a \$2,000.00 honorarium, and a travel allowance to the 21st NATAS Conference in Atlanta, GA. (September 13-16, 1992).

The award recognizes and encourages work in distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis, including but not resticted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal methods, and effluent gas analysis. A nominee must have performed outstanding creative work in the creation of or refinement of measurement techniques of generally wide interest during the preceding five years.

The previous recipients of the Mettler Award are:

1968 R. C. MacKenzie	1980 Joseph H. Flynn
1969 Robert L. Stone	1981 Takeo Ozawa
1970 Wesley W. Wendlandt	1982 Jen Chiu
1971 Bernhard Wunderlich	1983 Roger S. Porter
1972 Ferenc and Jenö Paulik	1984 Leo Mandelkern
1973 Edward M. Barall, III	1985 Edith A. Turi
1974 Jaroslaw Šestak	1986 Hans G. Wiedemann
1975 Frank E. Karasz	1987 Harvey Bair
1976 Patrick K. Gallagher	1988 Jean Rouquerol
1977 H. Kambe	1989 R. Bruce Prime
1978 John K. Gillham	1990 Vladimir Balek
1979 David Dollimore	1991 Julian F. Johnson

1358 EVENTS

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler Award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1991, and the award will be announced by April 15, 1992.

Nominations should be sent to:

Professor Stephen Z. D. Cheng University of Akron Institute of Polymer Science Akron, OH 44325-3909